Gotta Groove Records

Gotta Groove Records

Vinyl Record Pressing: Quality Control, Fair Pricing, Environmental Responsibility, Customer Service

Vinyl Pressing: The Harlem Gospel Travelers

Things are looking up for The Harlem Gospel Travelers, who return here with a new album, a new lineup, and a new lease on life. Produced by Eli Paperboy Reed, Look Up! marks the group’s first full-length release as a trio, as well as their first collection of totally original material, and it couldn’t have come at a more vital moment. The music still draws deeply on the gospel quartet tradition of the ’50s and ’60s, of course, but there’s a distinctly modern edge to the record, an unmistakable reflection of the tumultuous past few years of pandemic anxiety, political chaos, and social unrest. The songs are bold and resilient, facing down doubt and despair with faith and perseverance, and the performances are explosive and ecstatic, fueled by dazzling vocal arrangements punctuated with gritty bursts of guitar and crunchy rhythm breaks.

Born out of an non-profit music education program led by Reed, The Harlem Gospel Travelers—singers Thomas Gatling, George Marage, and Dennis Bailey—released their debut LP, He’s On Time, to rave reviews in 2019, with Pop Matters hailing the album’s “musical transcendence” and AllMusic praising it as “dreamlike and joyous.” The record charted on Billboard, earned the Travelers high profile fans like Elton John (who invited them to appear on his Rocket Hour radio show on Apple Music), and landed them festival slots everywhere from Pilgrimage to Telluride Jazz.

Preorder now through Colemine Records.

Vinyl Pressing: Tall Dwarfs — Unravelled

New Vinyl Pressing: A deep dive into the 21-year journey of New Zealand DIY pop pioneers Tall Dwarfs, aka Alec Bathgate and Chris Knox (both previously of Toy Love and The Enemy fame). Designed and painstakingly curated by Bathgate himself, this 55-track collection comprises songs from across the band’s discography which spans a slew of full-length albums, EPs, singles, and compilation cuts released between 1981 and 2002. Unravelled is an abbreviated primer into the ramshackle brilliance of Tall Dwarfs, whose influence has lived on through artists as varied as Pavement, Yo La Tengo, Beck, Waxahatchee, Bill Callahan, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, the Mountain Goats, and Neutral Milk Hotel, just to name a few.

4LP 180 gram set, available from Merge Records.

Vinyl Pressing: Jonathan Richman

New Vinyl Pressing! Jonathan Richman – Want To Visit My Inner House?

Featuring Tommy Larkins on drums, Jerry Harrison on keyboards and Nicole Montalbano on tambura. Recorded at the Mountain Studio in Marin. Produced by Jonathan Richmond, Jerry Harrison, and Nicole Montalbano. Shameless, Shameless was recorded at The Cottage by Jake Sprecher Special thanks to our engineer and collaborator Karl Derfler.

Courtesy of Blue Arrow Records!

Vinyl Pressing: GBV – Tremblers and Goggles By Rank

New Vinyl Pressing – A wild and kaleidoscopic new GBV album. Grab it now from Rockathon Records!

Vinyl Pressing: Chris Lujan & Electric Butter feat. Andre Cruz

New vinyl pressing from Chris Lugan – The Real Thing.

“Iʼve been going at this music thing for a long time”, says Lujan. “But, it wasnʼt until a few years ago that I started getting some real traction going.” – Chris

Chris Lujan, Bay Area born and raised, has been churning out the jams playing bass behind various projects since the early-90ʼs. Itʼs been a long time coming. But, itʼs finally time for him to step out front. And, in a big way.

With this new album, The Real Thing, from Chris Lujan & Electric Butter, Lujan has proved himself a masterful producer/engineer/musician. “Iʼve gotta do all this shit myself. I ainʼt got the money to pay anyone else to do it. So, I have no choice other than to step up to the plate myself and show my ass.”

With the addition of vocalist Andre Cruz, this album truly shines as one of the best from this new soul scene! Andre, performing on nine of the ten tunes, really brought this project to life. “Before Andreʼs collaboration, this album was kind of just a mish-mash, “best of” (what Iʼd done before) kind of affair. Once I started working with Andre, the true album started to take shape.”

At times moving, fiery, and jubilant, this album is, as Jose Valle (Raza Del Soul) puts it, “Soul with a heavy heart.”

Vinyl Pressing: Charlie Martin – Imaginary People

New vinyl pressing – first time on vinyl!

Vinyl Pressing: Auburn Lull – Alone I Admire

New vinyl pressing! Auburn Lull’s classic debut now available on vinyl for the first time. Originally released on Burnt Hair Records in March, 1999, this reissue marks the 20th anniversary of Darla’s CD reissue in February, 2002.

Auburn Lull was formed in the mid-90s by four rural mid-Michigan teens with their ears tuned to the overseas sounds of Slowdive, Seefeel, The Verve, Eno, and Flying Saucer Attack, to name just a few.  The band quickly became associated with other like-minded Michigan bands, particularly Mahogany, with whom they split their recorded debut The Dual Group EP on the now legendary Burnt Hair Records in 1997.  Released in 1999 to critical acclaim, Alone I Admire was the band’s first full-length and remains the band’s touchstone.  Though their recorded output comes at a snail’s pace, Auburn Lull continue to evolve, surprise, and push their sound into uncharted territory.

Available from Darla Records.

Vinyl Pressing: Loren Connors – 9th Avenue

New vinyl pressing: Utterly wailing “solos” over a base of thick distorted guitars, Loren Connors’ music conjures up scenes of lonely streets, dark nights, but also hopeful and joyful mornings. 9th Avenue is the first vinyl reissue of a CD Loren released on his Black Label in 1995, a view into his mid-90’s heavier electric guitar era, back when he was going by his Loren Mazzacane Connors moniker.

9th Avenue fits right alongside releases from that same time period, such as Long Nights (Table of the Elements) and Crucible (Black Label, with his partner Suzanne Langille), as well as his collaborations with Alan Licht, Keiji Haino, and MMMR (group featuring Jean-Marc Montera, Thurston Moore, and Lee Ranaldo).

The LP consists of 11 pieces, ranging from heavy bottom-end distortion with overlaid single-note airiness, to multi-layered dirge, to washed/phased out vignettes, to single note story-telling delicateness, all with a particular sound that makes you feel like you’re in the next room. With more than 100 releases, Loren is a singular and unique force in the cannon of American experimental guitar players.

Available from Carbon Records.

Vinyl Pressing: Fever Dog – Alpha Waves

A heavy dose of prog metal – it is hard to fit this album into a single box. Definitely something to pick up if you want to rock out on a summer Saturday evening. Available now on many different vinyl colors from Glory Or Death Records.

Vinyl Pressing: Doctor Bionic – Animal Totem

Raw-Analog-Recordings for your Psyche, pressed on vinyl. Check out Chiefdom Records today.

Custom Record Pressing

-Professional mastering and cutting
-High quality plating & pressing
-Unsurpassed quality control
-Custom printed packaging
-Download audio/video hosting
-Distribution/fulfillment consulting
-Responsive customer service

Big Plant Capacity
Specialty Shop Quality & Service
We want to press your next record.

Contact Information:
(800) 295-0171
[email protected]

Mailing List

Exclusive GGR Pressings & More:

Vinyl Mastering Info:

The Very Basics

Graphics & Mastering Services:

Click Here for Referrals

Label Services & Distro

Fulfillment Pricing & Info

Merch Services:

Cassettes, CDs, Merch Referrals

Record Stores:

RSD Store Directory

Gotta Groove Archives

GGR on Instagram
GGR on Facebook
GGR on Twitter
GGR YouTube Channel